India Thrashes Sri Lanka in Third T20 Match

The Indian cricket team put up a stunning performance against Sri Lanka on Sunday, winning the third T20 match with a resounding nine-wicket victory. Led by skipper Virat Kohli, the Indian side once again showed their dominance, as they completely outplayed their opponents and sealed the series 3-0. It was an outstanding display of skill and determination from the Indians, who put the Sri Lankan side to the sword with a clinical performance.

The third T20 match between India and Sri Lanka was an absolute thriller, with India emerging as the clear winner. India won the toss and elected to bat first and they posted a massive total of 174/5 in their 20 overs.
Shikhar Dhawan led the charge for India with a blistering knock of 66 runs off just 37 balls. He was supported by Virat Kohli who scored 46 off 35 balls. Hardik Pandya made a quick fire 24 off 11 balls and KL Rahul chipped in with 17 runs off 10 balls. For Sri Lanka, Lahiru Kumara was the pick of the bowlers, taking 2 wickets for 25 runs.
Sri Lanka had a tough task ahead of them to chase the target of 175 but they put up a good fight. Danushka Gunathilaka top scored with 54 off 37 balls and was supported by Asela Gunaratne who scored 30 off 18 balls. In the end, they fell short of the target by 27 runs, scoring 147/7 in their 20 overs. Jasprit Bumrah was the star performer for India, taking 3 wickets for 23 runs in his 4 overs.
India emerged triumphant with a 27 run win and Shikhar Dhawan was awarded Man of the Match for his brilliant performance with the bat.

Fall of Wickets
The first wicket fell in the 4th over when Shikhar Dhawan (9 off 14 balls) was caught by Jeevan Mendis off the bowling of Lakshan Sandakan. In the 8th over, Rohit Sharma (28 off 22 balls) was caught and bowled by Lasith Malinga. The third wicket to fall was that of Virat Kohli (20 off 17 balls) who was caught by Thisara Perera off the bowling of Kasun Rajitha. In the 13th over, Rishabh Pant (3 off 6 balls) was clean bowled by Isuru Udana. In the 15th over, Krunal Pandya (24 off 16 balls) was caught by Kusal Perera off the bowling of Lakshan Sandakan. In the 17th over, Hardik Pandya (20 off 9 balls) was caught by Kusal Perera off the bowling of Isuru Udana.
The first wicket to fall for Sri Lanka was that of Niroshan Dickwella (16 off 13 balls) who was caught by Hardik Pandya off the bowling of Krunal Pandya in the 2nd over. In the 5th over, Avishka Fernando (1 off 3 balls) was caught by Shreyas Iyer off the bowling of Deepak Chahar. The third wicket to fall was that of Bhanuka Rajapaksa (0 off 1 ball) who was bowled by Ravindra Jadeja in the 8th over. In the 11th over, Kusal Perera (5 off 10 balls) was caught and bowled by Hardik Pandya. The fifth wicket to fall was that of Jeevan Mendis (6 off 12 balls) who was caught by Shikhar Dhawan off the bowling of Deepak Chahar in the 13th over. Finally, in the 14th over, Thisara Perera (19 off 16 balls) was caught by Rohit Sharma off the bowling of Ravindra Jadeja.

India’s Innings
India’s batsmen were on fire in the third T20 match against Sri Lanka. Led by Rohit Sharma’s brilliant innings of 89 off 56 balls, India put up an impressive total of 201/6 at the end of their 20 overs.
Shikhar Dhawan also made a significant contribution with a score of 46 runs off 28 balls. KL Rahul, who came in to bat after Dhawan got out, scored 18 runs off just 12 balls before getting out. Captain Virat Kohli was not able to contribute much with the bat, scoring only 8 runs off 8 balls before being dismissed by Isuru Udana.
Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, and Ravindra Jadeja all chipped in with crucial late innings runs. Pant scored a quickfire 23 off 12 balls, Pandya made 20 runs off 8 balls, and Jadeja finished with 14 runs off 10 balls.
The Indian team put up a formidable batting performance and ended their innings with a score of 201/6. This was more than enough for the Indian bowlers to defend and lead India to victory in the third T20 match against Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka’s Innings
Sri Lanka started their innings on a poor note with Dhananjaya de Silva getting out for a duck in the first over. The other opener Kusal Perera then put up a solid partnership with Bhanuka Rajapaksa. Both batsmen added 42 runs to the total before Perera was dismissed by Deepak Chahar for a score of 25. Rajapaksa then continued his good run, scoring 46 off 39 balls before he was sent back to the pavilion by Yuzvendra Chahal.
This wicket was the beginning of the end for Sri Lanka as the middle-order collapsed and they were bowled out for only 135 runs in 18 overs. Chahal, Chahar and Ravindra Jadeja were the pick of the bowlers as they picked up 3 wickets each. Chahal was declared as the Man of the Match for his stellar performance with the ball. India emerged victorious by 7 wickets in this third T20 match.

Man of the Match

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button